July 27, 2010

An exciting parcel & a laid back approach

Posted in Uncategorised at 2:32 am by Umm Fatimah

Just had to share this one with you before I drift off to sleep. Our postman hasn’t been complaining lately, as he no longer has to carry stacks of books on our behalf :-), so if you were to visit us in the mornings, there wouldn’t be a fight to reach the door between the girls and I. However, today was almost like a breath of fresh air when a Royal Fireworks Press [RFP] parcel came through our door. To think that I had actually forgotten that I’d even ordered these books! Ooops.

I’ve been rethinking our curriculum schedule that I posted over the weekend, and dare I say I’m considering to tweak it a little after seeing the content of the above books. For the  summer I was planning to balance F’s home school studies and my own revision time [in case I haven’t mentioned already, I’m studying for a Law degree and this is my final year]. Although I wanted to push for F to get some work out of the way so that we could progress with next year’s curriculum along with the rest of the schooling world. Life isn’t always as you plan and I am left contemplating on pushing our deadlines back a few weeks.

Hmmm this would give me the window I need to dig into my last minute revision [I am such a last minute person] as well as easing up on the pressures of home school for F and I. So yeah I will, what harm can it do? So you’re wondering what changes I am making right. Well instead of continuing with our general language art curricula, I’ll try to give her more independent work instead. Hence the Aesop’s Fable curricula pictured above. Despite there being  four books in the series, I’m not sure how many we will actually need for now. I guess time will tell.

The layout of the book requires that she reads an Aesop’s Fable, learns a list of vocabulary set in the story [what I would class as the 1st assignment]. For this F can practice using her dictionary to look up the correct meaning of the words and then to do copywork to familiarise herself with the meaning given in the dictionary.

 Then she is required to write a sentence based on a picture which she must also colour. The remaining part of this lesson are a set of grammar exercises nothing too complicated,  but straight to the point. Which I think is a highlight of the curricula I have so far purchased from RFP. The books aren’t very thick so. if F enjoys them, then we may continue with them in the autumn until we complete them. Is there such a thing as too much writing? Naaa

Classics in the Classroom  is written by MCT who is the author of MCTLA[our new LA curricula for next year]. Many have spoken of this book very highly so I’m looking forward to a quite read :-). I had a sneak peek at it this morning and he did grab my undivided attention. Advice here I come!

2 Comments »

  1. ummtafari said,

    As salaam alaikum,

    We love packages here too, but the novelty seems to wear off quickly when they actually have to do the work.

    • Umm Fatimah said,

      Wa alaykuma salaam,

      Yeah I know the feeling. To be honest I also find it hard to be motivated into doing something that I may not find all that interesting, everyone can. However, I guess instilling the value of dedication is important, to help our children to realise that life is not all about what they enjoy. They will have responsibilities and duties later on in their lives that may demand for them to do something because it is needed. For them to grow into responsible God conscious adults is our hope Insha’Allah


Leave a Reply

